Ekiti State University

Brief History of the Department

The Faculty of Education which is primarily responsible for the preparation of teachers at the graduate and diploma levels introduced its first set of undergraduate courses in the 1983/84 session. The Faculty is presently functioning with nine departments: Adult Education; Arts and Language Education; Guidance and Counselling; Educational Management; Human Kinetics and Health Education; Science Education; Social Science Education; Institute of Education.

The Department of Social Science Education was created from the former Department of Educational Foundations and Management, Faculty of Education through the approval granted at the University Senate Meeting held on 30th May, 2012. Full operation of the Department of Social Science Education Commenced on 17th August, 2015 with the following lecturers:

  1. (Mrs.) F.M. Osalusi (Pioneer Ag. H.O.D)
  2. (Mrs.) B.O. Abdu-Raheem
  3. (Mrs.) M.F. Oluwagbohunmi
  4. (Mrs.) H. F. Okunade
  5. R.A. Alonge
  6. (Mrs.) E.O. Abiodun

The Department runs Bachelor Degree programmes in the following four subject areas:

1B.Ed. Social StudiesThese programmes are fully based in the Department in collaboration with the cognate Departments in the Faculty of Social Science
2B.Sc (Ed) Economics
3B.Sc. (Ed) Geography
4B.Sc. (Ed) Political Science

The Department also runs M.Ed.; M.Phil/Ph.D. and Ph.D. programmes in Social Studies. Nine new programmes have been prepared to give opportunities to prospective students who are interested in postgraduate programmes in Education Economics, Education Political Science and Education Geography.  The programmes are awaiting final approval by the College of Postgraduate Studies and University Senate.

The Department produced its maiden edition of Social Science Education Journal (SOSCED-J) in 2017.  Two editions, volumes 2:1 and 2:2 were produced in 2018 while volume 3 was produced in 2019. Another edition volume 4(1) and 4(2) 2020 have just been added to the list of Journals produced in the Department.