Ekiti State University

Brief History of the Faculty

The Faculty of Education which is primarily responsible for the preparation of teachers at the graduate and diploma levels, introduced its first set of undergraduate courses in the 1983/84 session. The Faculty as at then, had four Departments of Educational Foundations, Curriculum Studies, Guidance and Counselling and the Institute of Education.  The Institute of Education was set up in 1987/88 session for in-service/refresher courses; seminars; workshops; Diploma Programmes in Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics; Sandwich Programmes for serving teachers; and render other services to schools and Ministries of Education (Federal and State).   The Department of Human Kinetics and Health Education was created in year 2011, though it started in 1993 as a Physical and Health Education Programme in the Department of Educational Foundations and Management. The initial nomenclature of Physical and Health Education was later changed to Human Kinetics and Health Education based on Senate approval.


In 2016/2017 session, the former Curriculum Studies Department was split into the departments of Arts and Language Education, Science Education and Vocational and Technical Education.  Similarly, the former department of Educational Foundation and Management was also split into the departments of Adult Education, Educational Management, Social Science Education and Human Kinetics and Health Education. Thus at present, the Faculty is made up of nine departments, namely: Adult Education, Arts & Language Education, Educational Management, Education Guidance and Counseling, Human Kinetics and Health Education, Institute of Education, Science Education, Social Science Education, and Vocational and Technical Education


The nine departments in the Faculty jointly provide undergraduate courses leading to the award of B. A. (Ed),  B.Sc. (Ed.) and B. Ed. (Regular and Sandwich) with specialization in the following areas:

  1. English, French, Yoruba, History and Religious Studies [B.A. (Ed.)]
  2. Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics, Computer Science, Agricultural Science, Physical and Health Education [B.Sc. (Ed)]
  3. Accounting, Economics, Geography and Political Science [B.Sc. (Ed.)]
  4. Guidance and Counseling, Educational Management, Adult Education, Nursery and Primary Education, Integrated Science, Business Education and Social Studies [B. Ed.]



  1. The B. A. (Ed), B. Sc (Ed) and B.Ed Degrees of the Faculty shall be awarded to students in the Faculty of Education who have completed the prescribed number of units of student work-load in the university and who have passed the prescribed examinations including GST, Practical Teaching and/on Practicum
  2. Students in the B. A (Ed) B. Sc (Ed) and B.Ed Degree programmes shall offer courses in other auxiliary teaching subject. In addition students shall offer prescribed course in the various aspects of education as an academic discipline throughout the eight semesters of the degree programme.
  3. The Faculty attaches great importance to practical teaching which is normally offered at the end of the fourth and sixth semesters of the course. This last six week each time.

The Faculty runs the following postgraduate programmes:

  1. The Post-graduate Diploma in Education (PGDE)
  2. Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Business Education (with options in Accounting, Marketing and Office Technology Management), Educational Technology, Guidance and Counseling, Language Education, Philosophy of Education, Science Education, Mathematics Education, Tests and Measurement and Educational Management, Sports Administration, Physiology of Exercise, Health Education, Psychology of Sports, Sociology of Sports
  3. Master of Science Education [M.Sc. (Ed.)] in Agricultural Education, Building/Woodwork Technology, Electrical/Electronic Technology, Mathematics, Mechanical Technology Education.
  4. M.Phil / Ph.D in Guidance and Counseling, Language Education, Philosophy of Education, Science Education, Mathematics Education, Tests and Measurement and Educational Management, Agricultural Education, Building/Woodwork Technology, Electrical/Electronic Technology, Mechanical Technology

All Masters’ degree programmes are available on both regular and sandwich bases but M.Phil.and Ph.Dprogrammes are available on regular basis only.

Students’ Population

As at the 2020/2021 session, the Faculty had a student population of 2,709 at the undergraduate level, (constituting about one third of the University population) and a student population of 577 at the postgraduate level comprising 21 PGDE, 355 M.Ed., 5 M.Sc. (Ed.), 35 M.Phil., and 161Ph.D candidates.

Staff Development

The Faculty enjoyed a luxurious support on the staff development programme, with about 10 members currently on study leave within and outside the country on sponsorship either by the University or TET Fund, similarly, attendance at learned conferences and workshops was tremendously supported.  There has been an increase of almost 200% in the staff strength since the last decade, with 40 Senior Lecturers, 11 Readers and 36 Professors as at 2019/2020 session.

Faculty members have been recognized and elected into various administrative positions.  For example, in the new millennium, Professors J. A. Adegun (2009-2011) and O. V. Adeoluwa (2014-2016) were elected into the office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor as stated.  Prof. Akin Ogunlade was appointed in 2013 as the 2nd substantive Vice-Chancellor of the then, The University of Education, Ikere (TUNEDIK). A professor of Evaluation, Samuel Oye BANDELE was appointed in 2015 as the 7th Substantive Vice-Chancellor of the University.  Another Professor of repute, Olufemi Victor ADEOLUWA, a Professor of Educational Technology, was appointed the pioneer Vice-Chancellor of BamideleOlumilua University of Education, Science and Technology, Ikere-Ekiti in 2019.


There have been 12 substantive Deans elected since the inception of the Faculty of Education in 1982.  The office of the Sub-Dean was instituted in 1992 for one-year renewable tenure.  About 15Sub-Deans have served for either one or two years since then.  The current Dean and Sub-Dean are Professor S. A. Jegede and Dr. R.A. Alonge respectively.

 Philosophy of the Faculty

The Philosophy of the Faculty is to provide essential training to student teachers in order to be sufficiently knowledgeable, competent, innovative, broad minded, adaptive and progressive.  This is with the aim of producing qualified teachers as professionals who will be more efficient and dynamic to impact positively on the lives of the children put in their care.  The realization of such abilities and goals will in turn make the individuals useful and happy citizen in the society.  It is hoped that the quality of teachers largely determines the quality of education in a society.